Need an examination to reopen your case?
Are you scheduled for an examination with me?
Are you eligible for a rating in Nevada?
Nevada impairment rating information.
Rating services I offer.
Impairment Rating FAQs
Do you have a ratable impairment?
To be eligible for a work-comp impairment rating in Nevada:
- Your condition must be stable, i.e., not changing or expected to change significantly even with additional treatment.
- There must be records or notes from your treating physician that state you are at maximum medical improvement (MMI), you are stable and ratable, or that you are as good as you’re are going to get (or something similar to that).
- You have no more scheduled therapy or doctor visits.
- You have a ratable impairment such as loss of range of motion, loss of a body part (however small) or body function, loss of strength, or loss of sensation. If pain is your only residual problem, you probably do not have a ratable impairment (see below).
By Nevada law, when your treating physician states that you are done with treatment and releases you from care, and you have a ratable impairment, the insurance company has 14 days to schedule an impairment rating for you. The actual date of the rating can be up to 30 days after that. A letter will be sent to you from the insurance company informing you of the date and time of your examination.
If you are done with treatment and are released from your doctor, and he feels that you do not have a ratable impairment, but you believe you do, call your claims adjuster and see if he or she will simply schedule one for you. Oftentimes, the treating physician will not be a designated rating physician and may not know what constitutes a ratable impairment. If your claims adjuster will not schedule a rating for you, contact me and I may be able to help get you a rating.